The Basic Layout

I’ve been meaning to write this for awhile now. Four months in one place seems like it would be long enough for me to get around to writing my first blog post. Truth be told I started a number of different possible posts over the past several months. A few of them might still turn into future blog posts (assuming this one is posted).

Alright then enough self examination just how exactly does one talk about flying halfway around the world to live in a strange new place? Much like the trip itself I suspect the answer of being something along the lines of just do it. Me being me however I am sure that I will manage to dance around the topics at hand with not inconsiderable skill, as well as a profound lack of editing. If you care about sentence structure and grammar please hear me now. If you are someone who is reasonably close to me, or you just happen to stumble onto the blog, feel free to expend your valuable time and energy as my editor. God knows that I cannot be expected to edit my own writing.

With that out of the way lets talk about Kyrgyzstan. Small country awkwardly wedged between China and Russia. Has been invaded and/or occupied numerous times in the past most recently as a member country/territory of the Soviet Union. Declared independence in 1991, and has since remained stable part of central Asia. Has welcomed Peace Corps volunteers for the past twenty-three years, as well as various other international organizations. The country itself is incredibly mountainous, which leads to hot summers and cold winters. With a population of more than six million people Kyrgyzstan exists as a country of isolated population pockets. These pockets are arranged around either major bodies of water or transportation hubs. Despite being a landlocked nation Kyrgyzstan has a surprising number of large lakes/reservoirs including one of the biggest in the world (a lake that I’ll write about just as soon as I get a chance to visit).

Within this collection of mountains, enclaves, and the occasional outright city you will find Toktagul. Located in the north of the Jalabat oblast Toktagul is a city of just under 80,000 people. The city itself has two claims to fame. The first being that the it’s reservoirs helps to produce the majority of the country’s electricity. The second being that I live within its laid back confines, and I am awesome.

Leave a Reply

