Mischief Managed

A couple of days ago I saw a golden opportunity to create a little mischief, and have a little fun. I was walking out of one of a second floor classrooms when, lo and behold, across the hall what do I spot with my little eye? Why a student outside of class, it was, I do believe! Now seeing a student in the halls is not exactly a shocking occurrence, nor is it surprising to see one standing in front of a doorway. What made this instance stand out was the focus the girl was paying to the keyhole to the exclusion of all else. Here she was in the middle of what was admittedly a momentarily deserted hallway and she had no idea what was going on around her. This was one of those times where I hate being an authority figure and/or adult.

 

Being an adult means having to follow rules you might have ignored as a child. Being an authority figure means having to enforce afore mentioned rules. Most of the time being part of this unofficial task force of maturity and responsibility is all fine and dandy. I am 24 years old, I teach English for maybe five hours a day, live halfway around the world, and for the most part I can do whatever I want with my free time. On the other hand what I am most assuredly not allowed to do is mess with a student whose only crime is being oblivious to her surroundings. If I know said student I can ask them why they are squinting through the keyhole when there is a perfectly good door handle, which may be used to pull the door open. If, however, I do not know the student the most I can do is get their attention, and ask them why they are not in class. Thus wasting a perfectly good opportunity, and there in lay the rub. If I were to get the student’s attention I am the responsible adult. If I sneak up behind the kid I get to have some fun

 

Sadly, on that afternoon several days ago, mischief was not to be. When I stepped out into the hallway, and saw the student seemingly glued to the keyhole, all I wanted to do in that moment was sneak up behind her and yell “BOO!” Social standards being what they are, though, I did not give myself the chance. Yea I mean I may have taken a couple steps toward her with, shall I say, less then honorable intentions but it all came to naught. I ended up basically scolding myself mid stride, walking up to the student, saying hello, and then walking away. I hate being responsible.

One thought on “Mischief Managed

  1. Oh my gosh, you are so self-aware! I love the two stories of what happened and what you wanted to do. And the way you told them kept me reading because I really wanted to learn what you did.

    I am so glad you’re doing this blog. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

